Strategy for the South East China Sea: U.S. Bid for Full Spectrum Global Dominance [6.2]







ALBA: The Bolivarian Alliance for the Peoples of Our America in Spanish. The idea for this regional cooperation came from the Venezuelian president Hugo Chavez for an independent role for Latin America in international politics.
Founded in 2004 and comprising of Antigua and Barbuda, Bolivia, Cuba, Dominica, Ecuador, Nicaragua, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Venezuela, ALBA emerged as an alternative to the Free Trade Area of the Americas. It works as a mechanism for cooperation and exchange through the Treaties of Commerce of the People.

CAN: The Andean Community of Nations (Spanish: Comunidad Andina, CAN) is a customs union comprising the South American countries of Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru. The trade bloc was called the Andean Pact until 1996 and came into existence with the signing of the Cartagena Agreement in 1969. Its headquarters are located in Lima, Peru.

CAN has the common goal: achieve comprehensive development, more balanced and independent approach by Andean, South American and Latin American integration,.
Venezuela was a full member till 2006. In 2005 Mercosur countries joined CAN associate member. Mercosur countries are included as associate members to CAN. Likewise did Chile to join in 2006. Spain is an observer since 2011. More detail including all related documents can be seen on CAN’s website su web.

ICTR: The International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda or the Tribunal pénal international pour le Rwanda (TPIR), is an international court established in November 1994 by the United Nations Security Council in Resolution 955 in order to judge people responsible for the Rwandan Genocide and other serious violations of the international law in Rwanda, or by Rwandan citizens in nearby states, between 1 January and 31 December 1994.

ICTY: International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia or ICTY, is a body of the United Nations established to prosecute serious crimes committed during the wars in the former Yugoslavia, and to try their perpetrators. The tribunal is an ad hoc court which is located in The Hague, the Netherlands.

MERCOSUR: (Spanish: Mercado Común del Sur), English: Southern Common Market) is an economic and political agreement among Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Founded in 1991 by the Treaty of Asunción, which was later amended and updated by the 1994 Treaty of Ouro Preto.

NEFIN: Nepal Federation of Indigenous Nationalities

OEA: is a regional international organization, headquartered in Washington, D.C., United States. Its members are the 35 independent states of the Americas.


SCSL/SCL: The Special Court for Sierra Leone, otherwise called the “Special Court” or the SCSL, is a judicial body set up by the government of Sierra Leone and the United Nations to “prosecute persons who bear the greatest responsibility for serious violations of international humanitarian law and Sierra Leonean law” committed in Sierra Leone after 30 November 1996 and during the Sierra Leone Civil War. The court lists offices in Freetown, The Hague, and New York City.

On 26 April 2012, former Liberian President Charles Taylor became the first African head of state to be convicted for his part in war crimes.

TELESUR: Venezuelan initiatives have not been limited to political and economic integration. This television-damericano began its operation in 2005 and was rated the day of its launch as a “product of the awakening of our people”. This is a project “against cultural imperialism.”
Governments of Argentina, Bolivia, Cuba, Ecuador, Nicaragua and Uruguay also support the initiative.

UNASUR: Union of South American Nations
Under Su-damericana Union of Nations (Unasur), driven mainly by Brazil and Venezuela, have created a number of organizations such as the South American Defense Council and the Electoral Council.
The Unasur South American is an alternative to the Organization of American States (OAS), based in Washington, seen in some countries as a tool of American power.
This Council, called by some as the ‘South American NATO’, tasks planning joint military exercises, military training and to foster and support regional efforts to assist victims of natural disasters.

UNFPA: United Nations Population Fund promotes the right of every woman, man and child to enjoy a life of health and equal opportunity. UNFPA supports countries in using population data for policies and programmes to reduce poverty and to ensure that every pregnancy is wanted, every birth is safe, every young person is free of HIV/AIDS, and every girl and woman is treated with dignity and respect.


UNODC: The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime is a United Nations office that was established in 1997 as the Office for Drug Control and Crime Prevention by combining the United Nations International Drug Control Program (UNDCP) and the Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice Division in the United Nations Office in Vienna. It is a member of the United Nations Development Group and was renamed the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime in 2002.


UN-WFP/WFP: United Nations World Food Programme is world’s largest humanitarian agency fighting hunger worldwide. WFP is part of the United Nations system and is voluntarily funded.


UNDP: United Nations Development Programme helps people at all levels of society to help build nations that can withstand crisis, and drive and sustain the kind of growth that improves the quality of life for everyone. On the ground in 177 countries and territories, it offers global perspective and local insight to help empower lives and build resilient nations.


UNICEF: United Nations Children Fund UNICEF is the driving force that helps build a world where the rights of every child are realized. UNICEF has the global authority to influence decision-makers, and the variety of partners at grassroots level to turn the most innovative ideas into reality.  That makes unicef unique among world organizations, and unique among those working with the young.

Previous pages:  1    2   3   4   5   6

Title image
Disclaimer: The views expressed in this article or the definitions/explanations to various acronyms used in this post are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of the ‘Wonders of Pakistan’. The contents of this article too are the sole responsibility of the author(s). WoP will not be responsible or liable for any inaccurate or incorrect statements contained in this post.



Wonders of Pakistan supports freedom of expression and this commitment extends to our readers as well. Constraints however, apply in case of a violation of WoP Comments Policy. We also moderate hate speech, libel and gratuitous insults.
We at Wonders of Pakistanuse copyrighted material the use of which may not have always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We make such material available to our readers under the provisions of “fair use” only. If you wish to use copyrighted material for purposes other than “fair use” you must request permission from the copyright owner.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star