I met the Qalander, Sufi & a Saint [2 of 4]

Qalander was speaking from the heart and from mood. It was difficult to understand from which time and space he was talking and on which depth he had plunged right now. There was incoherency in ideas and language was abrupt English, Persian, Urdu and Punjabi, all in same breath. He was very wise in not seeing people, I thought, because after meeting him I understood why Sufis are so secretive? Because they can’t communicate to all and sundry, no one but a Sufi can understand them.
He asserted strongly on the obstinate stubbornness of love for God, the claim and obstinate demand of God. How much impossible and unimaginable it seems that a human being, a finite self insists on having the infinity and demands him constantly. And he claimed that God loves this obstinate stubbornness of human being. Man should stand firm, it is a way not of comfort but pangs and pains, of kicks and scolds, of punches and hurt, of decay and perish. Yet only before God. And as far as this world is concerned, he claims, the man in the way of God is so ordinary one, he is King of Kings; independent and forceful nothing can damage him or escape from him.
·

MET THE QALANDER, SUFI AND A SAINT

·

by Farrah Karamat Raja

·

He said I don’t meet people – it’s only because of Imtiaz Bukhari that I’ve allowed you. In the normal routine, I should have asked for your questions of the interview. But instead, in a discourteous and coarse voice, he started questioning me. He spoke in sophisticated and polished English though, more sophisticated Urdu and rather more sophisticated Punjabi and Persian as well. Not only did he speak all these languages with finesse and a real Sufi mind but also recited the most difficult verses from all the four languages and he quoted “Hadith” as well.

I looked at the man, his eyes were mostly closed, his breath showed he was restless, he was in pain, he spoke in loud clear voice and it appeared he was a man of absolute moods, a king of his mood, who damn cared about anything. He asked me why I was writing, what I was writing. How do I write and why do I write? What is thought? From where does it come to my brain? And there were so many questions, I got totally confused. I don’t know what I replied or what I said. After half an hour of his investigation he at once declared, “You are welcome, you are in the way of God. Usually I don’t see people, and I had allowed you only on the recommendation of Imtiaz Bukhari. But through your answers, I’ve realized that you are not romanticizing with knowledge, you want to know God, you are on His way, I am your obedient servant. I will serve you for what else can be more beautiful to serve a person who is out in the way of God”. I was again surprised and confused at this sudden change of mood.

I started questioning him, but he didn’t answer appropriately. Then I started to observe him and felt that the man I am talking to is a Qalander. So much forceful, so much powerful, independent, so much authority; the world was really at the top of his left foot. I had no questions for him, I thought. So I just sat there conversing and learning and observing him. I was submissive and silent, listening to him carefully. Imtiaz Bukhari was a great help, he spoke to him most of the time, and he spoke intelligently, I realized this bureaucrat’s mind is not too handsomely capped. He can question and he can think, I thought his post in the government is genuine and so is his gold medal in sociology. His tact of questioning testified his gold medal.

Qalander was speaking from the heart and from mood. It was difficult to understand from which time and space he was talking and on which depth he had plunged right now. There was incoherency in ideas and language was abrupt English, Persian, Urdu and Punjabi, all in same breath. He was very wise in not seeing people, I thought, because after meeting him I understood why Sufis are so secretive? Because they can’t communicate to all and sundry, no one but a Sufi can understand them.

He asserted strongly on the obstinate stubbornness of love for God, the claim and obstinate demand of God. How much impossible and unimaginable it seems that a human being, a finite self insists on having the infinity and demands him constantly. And he claimed that God loves this obstinate stubbornness of human being. Man should stand firm, it is a way not of comfort but pangs and pains, of kicks and scolds, of punches and hurt, of decay and perish. Yet only before God. And as far as this world is concerned, he claims, the man in the way of God is so ordinary one, he is King of Kings; independent and forceful nothing can damage him or escape from him.

Once a woman came to my house, but she did not beg. I told him about her. I had just said two sentences and he described the woman. I looked at Imtiaz Bukhari and he smiled. He knew her; she was in the way of Qalander, Lal Shahbaz.

He is clean shaved, wearing pants and a shirt. He again and again makes references to Lal Shahbaz Qalander, Bu Ali Qalander and Hazrat Ali Qalander. He says they are the majestic and marvelous beings. He is Shia by sect. I asked what is the principal making, what is the way? He replied, “Make yourself reach up to the Prophet (P.B.U.H.).

“That is religion, that is the way, follow him”. He said some of those Sufis or Walis who by birth are bounded to be Sufis or Walis. Some are those who achieve to be a Sufi after a lot of hard work and toil in “Ibadat” [5] continuous and restless. “Ibadat” all the time in front of God and Prophet (P.B.U.H). Third one is a person who by some action is selected at once, there and then by the blessing of God. He does some precious deed, which is liked by God, and he is selected. In this context he told me

“There was a rich man. He kept beautiful horses for races. Once, people during Muharram came to his house and requested for the horse to be taken in the procession of Hazrat Imam Hussain, for Zul-Jinnah [6]. After procession was over, they returned him, but the horse was no more in good shape. It had sad eyes, drooped ears, and it didn’t even eat properly. The man was very worried because the horse was very expensive, he tried the treatment but to no avail. Then he realized this horse has something special. During the procession Hazrat Imam Hussain (R.A.) must have ridden this horse, that’s why it’s so sad, ears are drooped and not eating anything when all is well.

He had to go out on some work so he hired a tonga and went on that. On the way tonga met an accident and the coachman died. The tonga was of another man and someone else was driving it. But this man was taken in as a murderer. He was imprisoned and was sentenced to death. His family used all influence, money, lawyers, all, but to no avail. He was in the cell waiting for the death. Death had clutches on his throat. He couldn’t eat, sleep, or walk, had grown so weak he had motions for fear of death, there was no way out, he wept bitterly.

“Ya! Ali Maula what wrong had I done by sending a horse in the holy procession, I didn’t know it will be the summon of my death, Had I some idea, I would never had sent it. I did a service to you and you are doing this to me”. He kept praying and weeping, day of hanging was approaching fast, so much so that next day was the hanging day. He lost all hopes, he was lying flat on floor, when a handsome man in black hood riding upon a white horse entered from nowhere, into his cell, he had a sword in his hand, majestic, proud, significant and marvelous, he said.

“Get up, nothing will happen to you, don’t fear, Ali is with you, then he went away out of the iron bars.

Contd…

Next: I met the Qalander, Sufi & a Saint [3 of 4]

Previous    1    2     4

From the book “Prof. Ahmad Rafique Akhtar,  Mystery behind the Mystic” 
[5] Ibadat is exclusive worship of God. [6] Zul_Jinnah is ceremonial horse specially reserved for Muharram (the 10th day of the first month of Islamic Calendar). The day marks the martyrdom of Hazrat Imam Hussain
Disclaimer: The views expressed in this article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of the ‘Wonders of Pakistan’. The contents of this article too are the sole responsibility of the author(s). WoP will not be responsible or liable for any inaccurate or incorrect statements contained in this post.

YOUR COMMENT IS IMPORTANT

DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE THE POWER OF YOUR COMMENT

Wonders of Pakistan supports freedom of expression and this commitment extends to our readers as well. Constraints however, apply in case of a violation of WoP Comments Policy. We also moderate hate speech, libel and gratuitous insults.
We at Wonders of Pakistan use copyrighted material the use of which may not have always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We make such material available to our readers under the provisions of “fair use” only. If you wish to use copyrighted material for purposes other than “fair use” you must request permission from the copyright owner.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wondersofpakistan.wordpress.com/2009/11/24/i-met-the-qalander-sufi-a-saint-ii/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Was Shirdi Sai Baba a Sufi Saint or Pir? I live in Australia and so long to meet a Sufi and know more about Sufism “hands on”. Can you help here.

  2. Are there any Sufi’s in Sydney, Australia? This is an amazing site that you have created and your beautiful Sufi emblems/pictures take my breath away. Bismillah!

  3. […] Previous: I met the  Qalander, Sufi & a Saint  [2 of 4] […]

  4. […] Next: I met the  Qalander, Sufi & a Saint  [2 of 4] […]

  5. […] Next: I met the  Qalander, Sufi & a Saint  [2 of 4] […]

  6. […] I met the Qalander, Sufi & a Saint [2 of 4] « Wonders of Pakistan says: May 22, 2012 at 10:03 […]

  7. […] 2   3   […]


Leave a Reply

