I met the Qalander, Sufi & a Saint [1 of 4]

The house was simple, neat and tidy, so was his wife. The man surprised me, he was so casual and least bothered that an outsider is in the home, but he spoke with closed eyes, he opened them rarely and when he did they were red. His eyes seemed to me full of devotion, an intoxication of love for God, but his voice was coarse and style like; who cares. I remembered the reading from “Fuwad-ul-Fawad” about Hazrat Marouf Kirkhi, that angels will bring a man tied in chains made of Noor [4], his eyes will be closed with intoxication of love – of Allah. Allah will order the angels take him to heaven and he will say, “I‘ve not loved Thee and prayed Thee for the sake of Heaven”.
·

MET THE QALANDER, SUFI AND A SAINT

·

by Farah Karamat Raja 

·

[Note for WoP readers: A month back my elder brother left for his heavenly abode. A friend of him, who has been a director at the World Bank Dr. Fateh Muhammad Chaudhary came to offer condolence. While he was with us, we were discussing arrangements for Chehlum [1]. There were differences over arrangements as one group was absolutely against holding such a function at all. They took Chehlum as a mere show off – nothing to do with Islam. But the second strongly believes in Zikr [2]and recitations which it believes are a tribute to the departed soul / s.

Dr. Fateh Muhammad Chaudhary, apart from being a banker of international repute, and a scholarly man that he is, was listening to the heated debate.

Then each representative of the two groups asked me what my opinion was. I answered that having been a man of science throughout my life, I try to take things in a rational way and as such I see rationale in both these concepts but both have their plus and minus side of things. Dr. Fateh was listening and then he related an event reflecting his own trail of thoughts in this regard.

It’s the time when mother of Hazrat Rabia Basri conceived. She was expecting a child any moment. In those days midwifery was not that advanced but whatever was available, had to be had at a fee and the poor couple had nothing to pay.

They were too poor to afford any service (whatever such thing was available in those days), so she asked her husband

It’s quite late at night. There is pitch dark every where. If I am to deliver the child, there must be light so that you fetch something for me. Go to our neighbor and ask him some oil to burn our lamp. Because it was late at night and everybody was sleeping, husband was reluctant. It was quite prudent, thought he, to disturb people while they are in deep sleep. But his wife being insistent, went to knock on the neighbor’s door, did knock but so slightly that no one would wake up. He came back and told his wife that he had come empty handed as no body woke up on his call.

Having no other choice, he slept and so did the expecting wife. And lo! What happens! The husband while in deep sleep has a dream or a message sort of thing, and from whom? from the Holy Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).

He is told in the dream to go to the governor of the province and ask him he owes me 257 dinars, get those 257 dinars for me. The poor husband was perplexed to have this revelation and told his wife what he had seen. The wife said that he must go to the governor and ask him for 257 dinars.

In the morning he went to the governor’s palace and asked the “darogha” (the keeper of the royal palace), to allow him have an audience with the governor. The “darogha” was furious that a poor man has come to see the governor and told the poor husband to run away. The man begged the darogha, he had an urgent and very very important message to convey to the governor. But to no avail, the darogha was adamant. Frustrated, he then tells the darogha what message it was. When he listens the whole message, the darogha is moved too. He then allows the poor husband to see the governor.

While in the court of the governor, the poor husband relates his revelation. The time he finishes his dream, the governor said, “You ask me just 257 dinars, had you asked me the whole province I would have given it to you”. This was the message I had been waiting for, it’s a proof that my Droods [3] are being accepted”. Flabbergasted the poor man asks the governor what did he mean. To this, governor replies that every night he recites 257 droods but last night he did not. Your dream proves that my droods are being received by the Holy Prophet. Here are 257 dinars.

The poor man got the 257 dinars and thus was able to meet the expenses for delivery of a child by his spouse.

To this Dr. Fateh remarked, whatever is recited does reach the recipient, so if there is a Chehlum and recitations are done for the departed soul, they do reach the recipient.

Without any further comment or opinion, I leave it entirely to the readers what opinion they might have in this regard. I for my part have narrated this event and now invite you to read the post by Farrah Karamat Raja. [Nayyar]

*** 
I gently knocked the door of Imtiaz Bukhari, deputy director of audit in WAPDA. I was expecting to see a friend of Prof. Rafique, I wanted to interview him but Imtiaz Bukhari was disappointed to see me, and I was disappointed to see him. To him I was too young, not so mature to write about Sufism. He was expecting someone, a mature scholar and I was also expecting someone about fifty five, but he was young, just forty. I said to myself, he is a handsome bureaucrat and his brain must have been more handsomely capped. What opinion can I get? My interview was over within five minutes. I asked him, have you met other Sufis, and he recommended me one.

Agha Ali Khan assistant commissioner, I was visiting his house for the first time. I pushed the bell button; a casual man in coarse voice with closed eyes opened the door. I said “Assalamo-Alaicum! I wish to see Agha Ali Khan”. He asked “Imtiaz Bukhari has sent you “. I nodded positively. He said “Come on Baita, come inside”. The house was simple, neat and tidy, so was his wife. Imtiaz Bukhari was also there. The man surprised me, he was so casual and least bothered that an outsider is in the home, but he spoke with closed eyes, he opened them rarely and when he did they were red. His eyes seemed to me full of devotion, an intoxication of love for God, but his voice was coarse and style like; who cares. I remembered the reading from “Fuwad-ul-Fawad” about Hazrat Marouf Kirkhi, that angels will bring a man tied in chains made of Noor [4], his eyes will be closed with intoxication of love – of Allah. Allah will order the angels take him to heaven and he will say, “I‘ve not loved Thee and prayed Thee for the sake of Heaven”.

Contd…

Next: I met the  Qalander, Sufi & a Saint  [2 of 4]

Pages    1     3   4

From the book, ” Prof. Ahmad Rafique Akhtar, Mystery behind the Mystic” by Farrah Karamat Raja.
[1] Chehlum is an event that is usually held on the fortieth day of the passing of a person. It is mostly observed by Ahl-e-Sunnat wal-Jamaat and the Shia sects of Muslims. The Deobandi /Ahle-Hadith though don’t observe this, and consider it un-virtuous.. [2] Zikris a recitation of Quran as well as narrations of Allah, his Last Messenger, his companions, his family, of  saints, walis and Qalanders. [3] Drood is complete ayat and a part of the Namaz. Its recited as part of wishes of peace and salutation to the person of the Holy Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H). [4] Noor is light with a glow of holiness around.
Disclaimer: The views expressed in this article are the sole responsibility of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of the ‘Wonders of Pakistan’. The contents of this article too are the sole responsibility of the author (s). WoP will not be responsible or liable for any inaccurate or incorrect statement / s contained in this post.

YOUR COMMENT IS IMPORTANT

DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE THE POWER OF YOUR COMMENT

Wonders of Pakistan supports freedom of expression and this commitment extends to our readers as well. Constraints however, apply in case of a violation of WoP Comments Policy. We also moderate hate speech, libel and gratuitous insults.
We at Wonders of Pakistan use copyrighted material the use of which may not have always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We make such material available to our readers under the provisions of “fair use” only. If you wish to use copyrighted material for purposes other than “fair use” you must request permission from the copyright owner.
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wondersofpakistan.wordpress.com/2009/11/24/i-met-the-qalander-sufi-a-saint-i/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. prof rafiq should sit in the place where anyone can meet him like walis

  2. […]    1   2   3   […]

  3. […] Previous    1   2   3   4 […]

  4. […] Next: I met the  Qalander, Sufi & a Saint  [1 of 4] […]

  5. […] 1. I met the Qalander, Sufi & a Saint [in four parts] 2. My Impressions of a Living Sufi [in three parts] 3.  Fana: When the ego gets annihilated  4. Bulleh Shah: The Mystic Voice of Punjab  5. Sufism and Pakistan […]

  6. Have you met Syed Sarfraz A Shah.

  7. […] 1. I met the Qalander, Sufi & a Saint [in four parts] 2. My Impressions of a Living Sufi [in three parts] 3.  Fana: When the ego gets annihilated  4. Bulleh Shah: The Mystic Voice of Punjab  5. Sufism and Pakistan […]

  8. […] Pages   1   2   3   4 […]

  9. […]    1    2   3   […]


Leave a Reply

